• English
  • Français
+237 222 69 88 85 secretariat@cetic.cm




Rose Gana Fomban Leke

Rose Gana Fomban Leke is Professor of Immunology and Parasitology.  Until March 2013 she was Head of Departmentat the Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at the University of Yaounde 1, and Director of the Biotechnology Centre of the same University(replaced upon retirement). She serves as Chair of the Board of Directors of the National Medical Research Institute in Cameroon, IMPM. She also serves as Vice President of the Scientific Committee of Cameroon First Lady’s Research Centre (CIRCB), in Yaounde.  She is a Fellow of the Cameroon Academy of Sciences. She was invited as the 2014 Aggrey-Fraser-Guggisberg Memorial Lecturer at the University of Ghana. She also then received the Doctor Honoris Causa (DSc) from the University of Ghana.

In 2011, she was one of six women who received the African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award for Women, which recognizes female excellence in scientific research. She had a letter of congratulations from the President of the Republic as well as the First Lady. She also received the 2012 award for Excellence in Science from The Cameroon Professional Society (CPS).

She was elected International Honorary Fellow of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene ASTMH, and was recognised as such at the opening ceremony annual meeting in Philadelphia October 25, 2015.
She is Executive Director of the Cameroon Coalition against malaria, and is the Chair of the Multilateral Initiative in Malaria (MIM) Secretariat launched on October 15, 2010 at the Biotechnology Centre of the University ofYaoundé 1.

She was President of the Federation of African Immunological Societies (FAIS) from 1997-2000, and a Council member of the International Union of Immunological Societies (IUIS) for two terms: 1998-2004. She is a member of the African Advisory Committee for Experts in Malaria (AACEM).has been a Member of the Board of Trustees of the African Malaria Network Trust (AMANET}. She has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) of the European Malaria Vaccine Initiative (EMVI), the WHO Advisory Committee on Malaria Vaccines (MALVAC), the TDR/MIM (Multilateral Initiative in Malaria) Task Force.

She has served and still serves as a consultant on many committees for the World Health Organization (WHO): She is presently one of twelve members of the Malaria Policy and Advisory Committee (MPAC), put in place by the Global Malaria Programme in WHO/HQ that decides on policy for malaria at the Global level. She is Chair of the African Regional Commission for the Certification of the Eradication of Poliomyelitis (ARCC) and a member of the Global Certification Commission (GCC).  She has been a member and Chair of the African Advisory Committee for Health Research (ACHR, WHO/AFRO) from 1999-2001; a member of the Global ACHR 2003-2008. She was a Board member of the Global Forum for Health Research 2005-2010). Since 2013, she serves on the WHO Emergency Committee for Polio eradication.

She has served as the Vice-Chair of the Technical Evaluation Reference group (TERG) of the Global Fund to fight HIV/AIDS, TB and Malaria from 2004-2009.

She served as the Chair of the Data Management Committee (DMC) for a trial on Azithromycin-chloroquine from 2010 to 2014.

She is a member of the Scientific Advisory Group (SAG) for Ebola vaccine trials in Guinea.

Her research interest is in the immunology of parasitic infections, particularly Malaria. She has a keen interest in Global Health issues. She and collaborators in Georgetown University and at the University of Hawaii have developed expertise in studying malaria during pregnancy, particularly placenta malaria. With grants from the NIAID, they have worked in this area and published many papers, and have trained many young and promising scientists for their MD, MSc and PhD degrees, post-doctoral fellows, and continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

Designed & Developed by DKT Group